Monday, October 1, 2012

Wisdom

Just a few thoughts on my drive to and from San Antonio, TX to Duncanmerica.

1. Do not stop at the Shell at the junction of Hwy 20 and Hwy 281. I've never seen so many beetles in my life. I seriously would not get out of the car and drove by each pump to see if the millions of beetles favored a specific pump number. It is worth your time to do a U-turn to make your way over to the Chevron station whom you swore you'd never give another penny to (because I really do hate san antonio gas stations).

2. Suicidal bugs. That is what I'm calling them. Bugs don't just fall out of the sky into the top at your car going 90-to-nothing just because they didn't see a WHITE SUV. Seriously I thought I had hit a bird when the first one killed over. Millions of bugs, butterflies (tear), and any other insect you shivered at in the insect house at your local zoo. It is dead now. I have a windshield to prove it.

3. I left SA at 8pm at night. That time calls for deer. Lots of deer. I saw 13 deer, 1 possum, and a skunk within a mile. A quiet car, open road, and my voice at volume 100 belting "I will always love you", it gets you thinking...what if giraffes were as wild as deer are in America. I'd literally have an aneurysm if I saw a giraffe..munching..on the side of the road. Seriously, have you ever thought of it?

4. While driving home today, with no cost at all, I saw: cows (my fave), baby goats, llamas, donkeys, camels, and buffalo. This is why it is best for me to drive at night. Then I got to thinking, I've never seen a llama mount. Maybe I should add this to my bucket list.

5. I've come to the conclusion that as much as I talked crap on that dumb'ol small town, I really do miss it.
  • Everyone wears cowboy boots, real cowboy boots, not the crap that the bedazzler threw up on. 
  • Everyone knows how to two-step
  • People talk in the thickest of thick accents, so different than Texas accents. 
  • There is a braum's who puts up with my complicated order, but never gets it right. 
  • The people in wal-mart are the STARS of "the people of wal-mart". 
  • You go anywhere and see someone you know, could or could not be a blessing. 
  • It is where I met Brice. The love of my life, in a bar, the only bar I might add. Where the bartender's knew everyone in our group by their first name...and still do till' this day, because the group makes up 90% of the people who are there every Friday for happy hour. 
  • Where we spent our first 9 months together. Just a mile a part. So far from each other then when we had to go back to my house to grab my wallet that I forgot, or drop my car off before we headed out to dinner. Not realizing how close we were to truly defining "long-distance". 
  • How simple my life was then. Getting up and going to school at noon. Being with some really great people at the hospital in town. One of the finest restaurants where Duncan-folk actually eat out at after church on Sundays...yes I'm still talking about the hospital
I think all I needed was a long drive by myself to gloat and think in silence

 Not to mention the great lengths of time I spent over at the Tullous' holding this little nug




dontjudgemebecauseofmybabyfever...

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Just a sniff

What a friggen week! And its only Tuesday...I hate Tuesdays. Adulthood is getting harder and harder. I'm more emotional everyday...maybe menopause is taking effect earlier than expected. After all, how many 22 year olds are going through adulthood right now. I'm advanced for my age. I knew I should have been in the gifted program in elementary school.

Monday began with a "Frick". Hello 7:00 a.m. you were supposed to be done with getting patient report at this time. Doesn't help that I had to fight 7 am traffic, which I'm beginning to agree it really is traffic, at this time. Long long long day that ended in me uncontrollably sobbing to the point where my preceptor asked if I should leave an hour early from work because I just couldn't keep it together.

You see, this past weekend, Bricey and I have been fighting a serious bug. Super super contagious. Started on Friday. I was taking a patients vital signs, leaning over them listening to their heart and I thought to myself "I can't sniff fast enough...I'm gonna drip snot on this kid". Needless to say I wore a mask the rest of the day. Brice had been sick a few days before me with a cold and a fever so I knew my time was coming, but man did it hit me like a putter to the head at the driving range. Brice came down on Friday and we went to bed at 9 not only on Friday night but also on Saturday night and THEN after he left town on Sunday I went to bed at 9...no excuse for my late self except for the fact that nyquil really does work.

That story is besides the point of this point, but just figured I give you all an update on my godawful week. Onto the next topic: food. Now I'm the butt of all jokes in my nursing residency group because I HATE going to the grocery store and I drool over the amount of time I can make a meal, take-out, ect. last. Sad thing is, I'm getting to the point where I'm tired to sniffing my food to know if it is good or not. Example: tonight for dinner I decided to have a turkey sandwich. I know the turkey and cheese are still good based on the expiration date on the container. The bread: check for mold, you never know what you're getting yourself into.  I also put cucumbers on my sandwich. You know the food that I diligently organized last post? Yea I'm still working on it. You'd have a high too if your groceries lasted you a month. Well my cucumbers were another story: I could smell the stench when I opened my Tupperware and saw the circular growths on them. Yes, I took Microbiology...I know darn well what those growths are. Solution: wash off the growths under the sink and TADA fresh produce! Side entree: broccoli. Now the creatures that grow on these groceries are a brown gooey substance, almost like liquidized brown sugar. Solution: take a knife and chop off the sugar. Not sure if I'm proud or not that I know the neighbors that like to harbor on my aging fruits and veggies but we'll see if my immune system will keep up!

Note to self though: just take a sniff of anything and everything when preparing a meal at Nurse Lauren's house... 

Monday, September 10, 2012

Productivity

Today I had the day off. I love my days off...especially when they're during the week. It is a day filled with sleeping in, being lazy, spending extra time shampooing my hair, the much needed shave, cleaning house, and you know...adult things.  I thought I'd just share the day in a life of the young adult nurse's day off.

I woke up at 10:00. Now for a body used to waking up at 5:30, I had to do some pleading.  It was a must to get up and use the bathroom at 7:00, I got up again at 9:00 and managed to sleep in for another hour. Yes!

I then sat in silence on the couch with my bowl of cheerios. Silence, facebook stalking, and a good nutritious breakfast. I decided to opt out on coffee this morning because...well....I had way too much yesterday and came to the conclusion that I should probably cut back a little because my tolerance is getting a little out of control.

I then walked in circles deciding what I should do today.  Bricey helped me clean my bathroom and kitchen (he did the whole kitchen by himself!) spotless last weekend! My bedroom is another story. The bedroom isn't as bad as the closet is. This is where the things that don't have a place go but I still use often. Anxiety hits. I make a list for my field trip to hobby lobby and off I go. I took a detour to home goods which is an awesome store that has cheap cheap cheap house stuff! So I bought 4 white frames for 4$ each for a bathroom project and also a mail organizer (I'm in denial that I never get mail). Off to hobby lobby I go. On the list: wicker baskets for closet organization and maybe some wrought iron wall hangings for the living room or kitchen. I drove my shopping cart around hobby lobby for an HOUR....empty...which is embarassing because usually you only get a shopping cart if you know you're getting lots of things. I took that shopping cart all the way around the store, found nothing, parked the shopping cart off at the front, and left.

This is so unlike me. I love to shop! What's up?! Guess I'm growing up.

So instead I came back to my house to do more adult things. Like organizing the fridge. Okay folks this was the highlight of my whole friggen day. I chopped up strawberries, broccoli, celery, cucumbers, peppers, grapes and carrots and put them in their own tupperware containers and enjoyed my own little farmer's market refrigerator.

My mom called and asked me what I was doing. I told her I just finished organizing the fridge.  Her response? "I wish I could be like you when I grow up".  Guess its the truth people, I'm old...or just bored.

Rookie thing I did: put all the stems, leaves, and such down the garbage disposal. Result: backed it up and had to call maintenance...one thing I do love about living in an apartment complex. This is the 2nd time today that they've come to my apartment though. First time was to cock a part of my wall in the bathroom that ants were marching out of.

Once the garbage disposal was fixed I decided on a trip to CVS. I printed pictures to go in my white frames and decided I need some adult groceries. On the list: Dove soap, Axe shampoo for bricey (mmmm), swedish fish and sour patch kids (the best combination in the universe), and due to the lovely fall weater...my favorite:

Once opened however, I was totally blue balled...

Happy Adult-life to me.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Hate is Such a Strong Word

So literally 2 minutes ago, I was brushing my hair thinking how much "I hate this" and was inspired for this very post: things I hate.

We'll start with the previous statement. I hate brushing my hair. I'm growing it our for 1. to have it long and pretty if/and when (i'm going to be murdered for that statement) i get married. I'd hate to cut it short and then not be able to wear it curly, because lord knows I'm not going straight, on my wedding day. and 2. to grow it long enough to donate. This has been a dream of mine, (a bucket list bullet if you must) to donate my locks. Not everyone can be THIS LUCKY ;) to be able to wear their hair super curly, wavy curly, or straight. And if I had any control, I'd love to donate it to a patient of mine. Also on my bucket list is to shave my head. Not crazy Britney Spears compulsive shave, something for the american cancer society or a loved one with cancer or like before, a patient. I think it would be pretty awesome. Just sayin'. Depending on how I wore my hair that day determines how long it will take to brush out my hair after my shower. Straight hair is the best to deal with, curly on the other hand (insert curse word here). When I lived in Duncan, I often had Bricey brush my hair (and even dry it if he's willing). My arms burn from brushing so long. I just hate it. Nuf said.

I hate painting my toes. Now I don't care if my finger nails aren't painted. I usually keep them natural, with clear gloss, or a nudge polish over them anyways because at work were not supposed to have colored nail polish. Don't question authority. But my toes are a different story. Do what you like but in this girl's opinion, natural toes are ugly. Maybe this was my mom's doing. She always has perfectly painted toes, professional pedi or not. We were blessed with the ability to polish perfectly. I think I actually do a better job than the nail salon but I pay the $50 for the leg and foot massage (and their polish usually stays longer). I also despise chipped polish on the toes and I like a little variety in color anyways. But painting my toes takes forever because my obsessive compulsive self has to do the same things in the same order everytime: remove old nail polish, trim, file, push back cuticles, beige coat to prevent yellowing of the nail, 2 color coats, and shiny top coat. WHEW!

Cleaning my house. I'm am a clean freak. I take after my daddio on this one. I like this to have a place, neat, organized, and put away before I go to bed at night. Otherwise, it is all I can think about trying to go to sleep. I have SLACKED OFF in this category in my newborn adulthood. With a small apartment and random things from every milestone in my life, there's not a place for everything!!!! Craigslist here I come! I finally got a day off today and got SO much done but the last thing on my to do list was "clean house" and I just couldn't come to terms with it. So instead, I showered and spent several minutes untangling my hair...

Exercising. I think about it every day. And YES this was the point of this blog in the beginning. But this blog has become a means of venting, laughing at myself, and sharing my life with the world: the good, the bad, and the best. I had good intentions I really do. But I CANNOT get my ass off the couch to walk over to my free, very lovely, brand new gym a few steps away in my apartment complex.  SOMEONE PLEASE MOTIVATE ME! Also, I no longer get on pinterest because I despise the pictures of those girls with the 12 pack abs and sculpted toosh. Listen, 98% of women have cellulite people. Are you telling me every ounce of that 2% took a picture and has a blog on pinterest of their perfect non-cellulited self. I don't think so.I proud to say that I have a personality, which will stay with me until I'm 100 but you can't tell me they'll look like that when their 100. My mamma always says, "She's just jealous because we're beautiful and have curves". Amen Mamma! (That's no excuse for exercising thought :-\ )

Filling up with gas. You know though, it is the best feeling in the world to have a see that line all the way to "F". I just hate paying for it, so often. Ugh. And I always wait until the last minute to get it. I have yet to run out of gas...knock on wood. It is not like I'm saving time or money by doing this either. It just makes me feel a little more cost-savvy from my perspective.

One day, I'll be used to this adult life. Until then, I will continue to hand wash my clothing, stare at my dirty house, pray I don't run out of gas, loosen my drawstring on my scrubs, and waste time painting toenails. That is it for my vent sesh. And for all of you still reading...Thank you for reading. I love each and every one of you.



Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Mr. Exoskeleton

I just couldn't wait until the end of the week the write this blog. My hands are shaking, I'm tachycardic, and seriously nauseous. The heebie jeebies are in full swing.

You see, I've diagnosed myself with everything in the book but there is one thing that I for sure have and that is: exoskeletalphobia. I can't do bugs that crunch when you kill them. And especially if they can jump or fly, your asking for a convulsive seizure from my end of the deal because I've already checked out.

I believe this fear started at my first trip to chickfila (which suprises me that I still enjoy this place). I was visiting some family friends and we had just received our food, dining in, when I felt an itch on the bottom of my leg. Low and behold a freaking cricket. Welcome cricketphobia. I shiver at the thought of it as I type this out. Atleast you can run from a snake. No matter which direction you choose, they just pivot and aim. UGH!

The worst of the fears: cockroaches. Not only do they echo because the crunch is extra loud. But did you know in texas, cockroaches have wings? This is no fairytale princess, this is freakin dawn of the dead. I no longer am interested in owning a lake house because of a terrible experience I had in a bathroom during a family vacation. Lets just say it started with a bubble bath and ended with an empty bottle of far aim RAID.

Grasshoppers and crickets are really bad in Oklahoma. During nursing school, we always kept our porch light on (for safety of course) and the bugs would SWARM! Dallas is just as bad. I noticed when I moved to SA, they don't really have much of a jumping/flying bug problem. Maybe just mosquitos...until this week. Me and Bricey took our anniversary trip to San Diego (a later post) and we come back to a chirping house. Thank goodness my hero (Bricey) was here this morning to flush the one in my bathroom. Side note: I did a double flush after he left just in case the booger decided to crawl up without anyone knowing (a frequent fear of mine). But after Bricey left, I noticed there was still the haunting music coming from my living room. I checked the closet, the music didn't get any louder. I opened my front door, nothing. So I decided maybe it was just coming from outside in the grass and went on about my business.

I got home later this evening and noticed the chirping again. I figured "the damn thing is probably waiting outside my front door so it can attack when I open it". So I decided not to open the door. The music continued getting louder, I thought this time "maybe behind the tv? Ehh I'll finish reading my blogs and look a little later" then I got up to look and by golly the damned exoskeleton had been creeping on me the whole time, waving antennas and all on the edge of the couch! Cue grand mal. I got the broom because you better believe I'm not getting armslength from that thing just so it can jump on me. World War II began. I've never thrown a 200 lb tv back so fast in my life. When we finished, I was sweating, living room a disaster, but the gangsta was gone. BOOM

I couldn't flush it in the toilet due to a long distance to the bathroom, I couldn't throw him in the trash due to the slight change he resurrected, so I opted for tossing his dead body on the cement outside my neighbors door. Happy Tuesday Neighbors!

Monday, August 13, 2012

The Value of a Dollar

Week 3, Day 1 of Adulthood. Its going fairly well but I'm learning every day the values in life. For example:

The value of a loofah: Now I've never been one to own a loofah because a few years ago I heard that loofahs collect dead skin in between its net. And I'm not down with that. But, because I fell in love with an expensive body wash, Olay Total Effects Body wash, I decided I would invest in a one. Now, instead of 4 dollups of wash each shower, I only use one.

The value of showering at night: This is a big one folks. For those of  you out there with thick, curly hair, you get me. I can't just "wear my hair natural", otherwise I'd look either like Albert Einstein or like a lion on crack. If I wear it curly, I need wet hair and a lot of product and if I wear it straight I need to dry it and straighten it which takes a lightyear. Solution: shower at night, sleep on it wet, not only does it dry itself, but it curls without looking like I purposely teased each piece of hair on my head. Braid, messy bun, or straighten without the mess of drying my hair and sweating so much that I need another shower.

The value of black coffee: I've talked a little about this before but now that I'm waking up earlier and earlier each day, about 5:00 AM, we spend a little time in this house saying a nice long prayer thanking God for providing me with extra. bold. coffee.

The value of the washing machine: I'm living without a washing machine. Now many of you know the lovely story of how I came to be without a washing machine but that is besides the fact. I don't have one any more. So that leaves me to hauling my ass across the parking lot and using the apartment complex's washing machine. Something I dread every week. I pay $1.25 to wash my clothes and a $1.25 to dry my clothes. I do 2 loads a week and for someone that hand washes half of her laundry, I've learned the next topic:

The value of the hand wash cycle: Now I'm a 90s baby. Which means, yes, I've become far too dependent on the hand wash cycle and may not have ever known what it was like to use a washboard but I'll tell you one thing, I hate washing my hand wash items, by hand. I'm way too inexperienced to wring out my clothes enough so that they are not completely dripping with water when I hang them to dry but I'm trying! If I come in with a case of carpel tunnel next week, you'll know why.

The value of Bricey: I have the best boyfriend on the face of the earth. I don't deserve him, he spoils me too much and loves me to pieces. I am eternally grateful for having such an amazing man. He has been so understanding of my schedule. Since I have moved, he has visited every weekend without complaint. Next weekend will be the 4th weekend in a row that he has come 7 hours down to San Antone.  He buys dinner, groceries, gas, and anything else I may need for the week. He spends hours being the shoulder I need to cry on every Sunday when we have to say goodbye again. He understands when I have to go to bed at 10 PM and calls to wake me up at 5 AM for work. Seriously girls, I'm sorry I took the best one out there. I'm sickly in love with him, I brag about him to everyone I know, I've got it far too good. Patterson family, you did a fine job at raising this one of a kind boy. I love you so much Bricey! Thank you for all that you do :)

Happy Monday Everyone! Have a fabulous week!!

Monday, August 6, 2012

Adulthood

Week 2, Day 1 of Adulthood. Listen here, folks, it is not as easy as it looks. I wake up at 5:30 and make a VERY dark cup of coffee and consume it immediately as the keurig allows me to. I may as well just hit the button and throw my face under the machine because lately, my body cries when the alarm goes off and I must peel my eyes apart from each other in order to not sleep through alarm number 9.

I decided to live in a beautiful area of Stone Oak. I think it is great. Not too far from anything I really need and only about 20 minutes (22 to be exact) to work. I'm just about tired of answering the question "Oh where do you live" because EVERY SINGLE TIME the reaction is "OHHHHH THE TRAFFIC IS SO AWFUL OVER THERE!". Now to anyone that didn't hear the conversation before where I explained I was from Dallas, I'm from Dallas. Where in Dallas? Dallas, Dallas (for anyone who knows me, I'm very particular about when people say they are from dallas, that means they are not from plano, garland, richardson, grapevine, fort worth....DALLAS). This is besides the point. It takes 20 minutes for me to drive to work, I don't take the highways...I know better than that, but 20 minutes is no big deal to me, especially when you know the particular place on the speed bump that allows you to go over them going 40 mph WITH A CUP OF COFFEE, instead of 5 mph like the car in front of me was doing today. I find that when you go slower, it is more invasive for yourself and your tires, but that's just my opinion. 20 minutes is shorter than a Pretty Little Liars episode fast-forwarding through commercials. Which brings me to my next topic: No cable.

Because of the whole, I'm an adult and pay my own bills thing, I decided to opt out of getting cable. After all, I'm a nurse, working 12 hour shifts, going to class for work for 12 weeks, and finding time on the weekends to make a long distance relationship work. Needless to say, a quiet apartment leaves the mind with too much space to work with.  So in the meantime I've been working on a little Pinterest project that Bricey helped me with. He built me shelves, sweet soul, and I've been painting them. This past weekend we got them put together and I must say, they look fabulous! Now, it has been a while since I've lived in an apartment and I forgot how thin these walls are and apparently so did my neighbors above me. So when they started their little rendezvous at 5:30 this morning (when I actually got to sleep in until 7 today), this nurse, yea me, was not the happiest. I've already rehearsed what I will say to them, if, and only if, I ever meet them. It involves providing a self-tightening wrench a little WD-40 for the case of the squeaks. 

I'd like to take this moment and thank everyone who has donated to my leftovers charity: (i.e. Bricey, my family, the Patterson family, Matt and Sarah) because that's just one less meal I have to purchase at the grocery store and considering how much my apartment rent, loans, and expenses will be, it has been a huge blessing to save a little on this budget category.

Some of my favorite things yet in San Antonio includes a craving I had last Sunday with Brice for Raising Cane's. We googled on our phone the nearest one and while on our way there, Bricey realizes that the location in in the airport. So we called them and asked them if they were past security and they said they could deliver curbside. So we parked right outside the Delta entrance, and waited for our food. Best. Date. Ever.


Also, we had a really awesome date night at Maggiano's Italian Restaurant. We shared a bottle of pinot noir and an appetizer at the bar and once seated realized you can order 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 1 dessert, and 2 ENTREES TO GO for 40$!!!!!!!!!!!! That being said, I will be having pasta tonight!


Now this past weekend, we went to bed at 10 pm on Friday, and crashed on the couch Saturday after a fun-filled day with the Patterson's. We were staying awake on pure happiness that we could be together on the weekends. There was much laughter simply blamed on lack of energy. This picture made me laugh so hard. Many times I sit next to Brice and put my very long hair over his head just to get an idea of what he would look like had he ever come home with red hair. Meet Emo, Justin Bieber, Brice


 Oh how I adore you...

More to come on this Adulthood life. Like for instance being scheduled the next 5 weeks with two 2 days in a row off, other days off are single days with me going back the day after. Challenge: Long distance relations. Solution: Taking the day off to take a Uhaul and packing up every single thing in Bricey's house while he is working so when he gets off of work the only thing he CAN do is...move.